What Does “Clear Cache” Mean on TikTok?

Did you recently see a “Clear Cache” function on TikTok?

If you did, you might be wondering what the function does.

If you already knew what clearing cache is, you might have other questions in mind.

Does clearing cache delete your drafts on TikTok?

Or does clearing cache deletes your liked videos?

Before you clear your cache, it’s best to know what the function actually does.

That way, you won’t have any regrets after using it.

In this article, you’ll learn what “Clear Cache” means on TikTok, what it does, and other frequently asked questions.

  1. What Exactly Does TikTok’s “Clear Cache” Button Do?
  2. When to clear TikTok’s cache
  3. Can they be recovered after clearing TikTok’s cache?
  4. Does removing the cache from TikTok also remove videos that you’ve liked?
  5. Will my TikTok videos be deleted if I erase the cache?

What Does “Clear Cache” Mean on TikTok?

TikTok’s “Clear Cache” feature allows you to purge the app of unnecessary data, freeing up space on your device.

TikTok saves information about your profile and the movies you’ve seen as cached data, allowing the app to open more quickly the next time you use it.

If you’re running low on space on your mobile device, clearing the TikTok cache is a quick and easy way to get rid of old video clips and music that you don’t need.

The cache size is displayed in the number next to the “Clear Cache” button.

If you see “100 M,” for example, it means your cache is 100 MB (megabytes) in size.

If you have 100 MB of free space on your smartphone and you erase the cache that reads “100 M,” you can do so.

The more videos you watch on TikTok, the bigger your cache will be.

If you’ve watched videos on TikTok before and want to get rid of the data, just tap the “Clear Cache” button.

It’s possible that you’ve been logged out of the app and will need to re-enter your credentials before you can use it.

Cache files can be safely deleted without affecting any mission-critical operations.

The only consequence of emptying the program’s cache is that it will cause the app to run more slowly the first time you launch it afterward.

You still won’t be able to see the change because it’s so slight.

The videos you watch on TikTok will be stored in a cache regardless of whether you choose to download them or not.

Repeated use will result in a larger cache size.

Frequent clearing of your cache can free up space on your smartphone if you’re getting close tocapacity.

You shouldn’t bother clearing the cache if its size is low and your device has plenty of free space.

How to clear cache on TikTok

TikTok’s cache can be cleared from inside the app or from the settings menu on your mobile device.

Launch TikTok, go to the profile tab, and then tap the three dots to access the clearing of your cached data.

Here’s how to delete your TikTok history:

  1. Launch TikTok and navigate to your account page.
  2. Just hit the “three dots” button in the upper right.
  3. Select “Cache and Cellular Data” from the menu.
  4. Tap “Clear Cache” under “Cache and Cellular Data.”

If you tap “Clear Cache,” you won’t be asked to confirm the action with a confirmation window.

As an alternative, caching will be cleared mechanically.

Many TikTok users have had this problem, so if you accidentally cleared your cache, you are not alone.

Having nothing to worry about, you can safely clear your cache.

Simply put, it will allow you to free up more space on your device.

Alternatively, if you’re using Android, you can clear the cache from your device settings.

Navigate to your device’s configuration menu, then tap on Applications, then tap on TikTok, and finally tap on Clear Cache.

The cache can be cleared in an iPhone app by erasing it and then reinstalling it.

Does clearing cache on TikTok delete drafts?

TikTok drafts are not lost if the cache is cleared.

Other minor information, like your video viewing history, will be wiped clean.

Nothing vital will be lost if you empty the cache, so there’s no need for concern.

I did some testing to see if erasing the cache also removed unsaved drafts.

To explain how I got there, I will go through the steps I took.

My initial step was to record a 15-second clip.

  1. The second thing I did was to save the video as a draft.
  2. You may find the draft posted on my profile now.
  3. Then I went into the app’s settings and deleted its cache.
  4. At long last, I checked my profile page, only to find that the unfinished draft was still there.

This demonstration demonstrates that your drafts will survive a cache clear on TikTok.

In conclusion, you shouldn’t worry about losing your drafts.

Does clearing cache on TikTok delete liked videos?

When you remove the cache on TikTok, none of your videos, drafts, or liked videos will be lost.

You may safely clean your TickTok cache without worrying about losing any of your favorite videos.

For this reason, I conducted an experiment to see whether or not erasing the cache would also remove films that had previously been liked.

To explain how I got there, I will go through the steps I took.

  1. The first thing I did was favorite some videos on TikTok’s FYP (For You) page.
  2. Next, I double-checked the videos I’d enjoyed to make sure they were included.
  3. Then I went into the app’s settings and deleted everything it had stored.
  4. Last but not least, I double-checked all the videos I’ve loved and found that they’re still there.

This experiment shows that even if you clear your cache, your favorite videos on TikTok will still be there.

In other words, emptying the cache won’t cause any irreversible damage to your system.

If I clear cache on TikTok will it delete my videos?

Even if you delete the TikTok cache, your videos will still be accessible.

TikTok only removes videos if you delete them from your profile or if they are found to be in violation of the site’s terms of service.

In any case, they won’t be removed for these reasons.

Whether or not deleting cache removes movies was a test I did.

What I did is outlined below.

  1. I made some videos and uploaded them to the app.
  2. My profile now includes a video section.
  3. Next, I went to the app’s configurations and deleted its temporary files.
  4. In the end, I went back to my profile and saw that the videos were still there.

With this test, we can see that clearing your TikTok cache has no effect on your videos.

Conclusion

TikTok users should clear the app’s cache on a regular basis to make room on their device and fix small bugs.

One of the first things you should do if you want to alter your FYP is to erase the TikTok cache.

TikTok does allow you to delete the cache through the settings menu if you are getting close to reaching your storage limit.

You can also delete the cache from other apps (like Instagram or Facebook).

Because of this, you’ll have more room on your smartphone to install a program that requires less in the way of storage.

Clearing an app’s cache is simply one of several options for making space on your device.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top